First Pilot Cities in Europe agreed upon

As a result of the call published in May 2015, the following Pilot Cities in Europe have been agreed upon: Gabrovo (Bulgaria), Galway (Ireland), Izmir (Turkey), Lisbon (Portugal), Łódź (Poland), Maastricht (Limburg, Netherlands), Namur (Wallonia, Belgium), Pécs (Hungary), Swansea (Wales, United Kingdom), Terrassa (Catalonia, Spain) and Timişoara (Romania). The PILOT CITIES’ European programme is run by Agenda21 for Culture and Culture Action Europe in collaboration with the CEMR.

Agenda21 and CAE are finalising the terms of references to be formalized with each city. During three years, 2015, 2016 and 2017, these cities and local governments will take part in a peer-learning process, will benefit from key expertise on culture in sustainable cities, and will conceive new approaches to this issue.

Should you require any additional information, do not hesitate to contact the Secretariat of the Agenda 21 Committee – or Culture Action Europe at with subject: Pilot Cities.

August 25, 2015, 2:45 pm
Image for: First Pilot Cities in Europe agreed upon